Open Web Platform (OWP)

Open Web Platform (OWP) is a collection of open (royalty-free) Web technologies developed by the W3C

The Open Web Platform (OWP) is a collection of open (royalty-free) web technologies developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and other Web standardization bodies such as the Unicode Consortium, the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), and Ecma International. It is the umbrella term introduced by the W3C, and in 2011 it was defined as “a platform for innovation, consolidation and cost efficiencies” by Jeff Jaffe (W3C CEO).

Jeff Jaffe talks about the importance of the Open Web Platform to the future of publishing (interview at TOC NY 2013):

Using the Open Web Platform, everyone has the right to implement a software component of the Web without requiring any approvals or waiving license fees.

Open Web Platform covers Web standards such as:

  • HTML5
  • CSS 2.1
  • CSS 3
  • CSS Namespaces
  • SVG 1.1
  • MathML 3
  • WAI-ARIA 1.0
  • ECMAScript 5
  • 2D Context
  • WebGL
  • Web Storage
  • Indexed Database API
  • Web Workers
  • WebSocket
  • Geolocation API
  • Server-Sent Events
  • Element Traversal
  • DOM Level 3 Events
  • Media Fragments
  • XMLHttpRequest
  • Selectors API
  • CSSOM View Module
  • Cross-Origin Resource Sharing
  • File API
  • RDFa
  • WOFF
  • HTTP 1.1
  • TLS 1.2
  • IRI

J. Alan Bird – The Open Web Platform and You!:

These standards of the Open Web Platform are at different maturity levels, and the development of most standards is still in progress. The primary goal of the OWP is to create advanced and open Web standards. Internet Society supports these efforts of the World Wide Web Consortium.